The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-10-2009, 03:32 PM

Default McKnight Firsts - My 12-string JumbMac

[Photo shows the wood for the hollow back option. Outside is figured Walnut and inside is Walnut on the bass side and cherry on the treble (a first for Tim).]

I am new to the AGF but already have a couple of friends, also owners-to-be or already owners of one of Tim McKnight's guitars. They both suggested I get on the forum and one suggested I start my own thread about the guitar Tim is building for me. And any way I can help boost Tim's career as a truly amazing luthier is alright with me.

My JumboMac will be Tim's first 12 string. Here are the specs for those who might be interested. As soon as I get a chance I will also post pictures of the build. I won't be the only one excited about Healdsburg this year, for sure. One main goal was to be as "green" as we could with sustainably harvested woods, as much domestic as possible. So here's what we came up with, Tim and Mary and me:

Redwood double top
Figured Walnut back and sides with the hollow back option. On the inside hollow back Tim made it Cherry on the treble half and Walnut on the bass half. This guitar will have a big choral sound-another goal with the 12 string.
Fingerboard and bridge will be Mesquite.
Binding is Sycamore.
Cherry neck
Rosette: Walnut background, ash and cherry trim with Paua diamonds
top and back purfling will be Cherry/Ash
Pure Western pickup
flower petal shapes (3) sound port (to go with the Hummingbird inlay on headplate and at the end of the fingerboard.)
Gold tuners.

I have to wait until August to hold this guitar. So be it. Pictures coming soon.

Last edited by jameshughd; 02-11-2009 at 04:44 PM. Reason: updating information and adding a photo.
Old 02-10-2009, 04:06 PM
Bang for the Buck Guitars